Beginner’s Guide to Brush Care; Am I sensing a pattern here?

edit twoSo I got lots of positive feedback on my Beginner’s Guide to Eyeshadow post, and I think this might be a new thing I do. I personally feel I just left the ‘Beginner’ status, and I know it took me a lot of internet-searching and video watching to get here. So I hope that by making these posts, I can help other people claw their way out of the beginner status, to what I’m calling the ‘hey look I can put shit on my face and it looks damn fine also have you seen how much my highlight is popping?’ status. Let’s get going.

So brush cleaning. Way back when I started this whole makeup malarkey, I will be honest; I didn’t clean my brushes. Like At All. Which is really bad when I look back at that now, though I wasn’t using my brushes for a whole lot. But thankfully now I know better. Brush care is important for a couple of reasons. For one, cleaning your brushes makes sure there’s no icky bacteria left hanging around, which can lead to oily skin or breakouts. Spot cleaning your brushes means there’s no left over product that could jepordise your look (this applies a lot to eyeshadow brushes). And lastly, we just went and spent our hard-earned money on these makeup brushes. Cleaning them makes sure they stay in the nicest possible condition, forever ready to help us make our faces even more stunning.

So there are two types of cleaning you can do to your brushes. Spot cleaning and deep cleaning. Both are equally as important, and you should do both if you want to keep your brushes in tip-top condition.

Spot Cleaning – So this is what you’re likely to do with your brushes on a day-to-day basis, whenever you feel there’s too much leftover product on your brushes. This isn’t going to 14055566_1077401142308322_1957443634_ncompletely solve our bacteria problem (hence why we deep clean) but it will make our brushes clean and ready to use again.There are lots of products on the market you can use for spot cleaning; sprays and oils mostly, and if you look on the internet you can even find brush cleaner recipes. Personally I use No7’s Makeup Brush Cleaner, which you can buy for £8 from Boots. I would call this product an oil, though that makes it sound like it’s, well you know, oily. It’s not really, so long as you use it right. But this stuff does go very far. To use this, all you gotta do is pop a little bit on a tissue or cotton pad (be careful when getting it on there because the bottle usually squirts everywhere. Only downfall of the product really) and twirl your brushes through the product. Once all the leftover makeup is off of your brush, I find it’s a good idea to twirl your brush onto a dry tissue/cotton pad to get rid of any ‘oily’ residue. Make sure you let your brushes dry COMPLETELY before using again afterwards. Cause otherwise the oil mixed with makeup can create some very weird results. When you do this make sure to be gentle with your brush, just so that the bristles don’t go crazy and they can re-shape nicely afterwards. And that’s it! Spot cleaning is a quick and easy way to get clean brushes ready for their next use, which means no unwanted colours on our eyeshadow!

Deep Cleaning – So this is what we need to destroy any of that lurking bacteria and get our brushes good as new. I was a bit uncertain with what to use for deep cleaning at first; after reading arricles by ‘professional makeup artists’ listing expenisve and hard to get products for deep cleaning that all left me a little bit baffled. But I then discovered that you can just use Shampoo! I’m currently using Pantene Pro-V Repair and Protect on my hair, and so I use this on my brushes; anything that’s good enough for my hair is definitely good enough for my brushes too. For deep cleaning, you’re gonna need some nice shampoo, a sink and a towel. To start, run your brushes under luke-warm water. Then squirt a pea sized bit of shampoo into your hand and twirl your brush through it. On bigger brushes – like face brushes – I find it also helps to massage the bristels with your fingers t0 make sure every bristle in the centre of the brush is also clean. Then rinse under warm water, again massaging the bristles to make sure you get all of the shampoo out. Because your brushes are not gonna be the same if shampoo is left in them (trust me I’ve had this problem before, it’s very frustrating) twirl them on the towel lightly to get rid of some of the water, then leave to naturally dry completely. Once they’re dry, you’re done! Beautifully clean brushes all ready for use!

So deep cleaning can be time consuming and tedious and annoying when you have a million brushes to get through, but it’s imporant that you do it to keep your face nice and your makeup fresh. It’s worth it in the end I promise!

My last tip for brush care, is to keep clean and dry flannels around. When my brushes have eyeshadow on them, but not enough to warrant proper spot cleaning? I just wipe them on my clean flannel to get rid of the residue. I’ve been doing this for ages and I find it means I don’t have to always wait for my brushes to dry out between uses. Annnndddd it means that if I want to use the same brush for one look, I’m not gonna mess up with too many colours on my face 😛

So that’s the end of my second beginner’s guide, I hope it was helpful! As always, comment down below if you think of anything that you want help with, or if you want to chat bout anything! I know I’m not an expert, but I like to think my posts are a little more accessible than big time bloggers and vloggers who just hit you with those high end products. It was a pleasure writing for you, and I’ll see all ya’ll faces next week.

Much Love Amigos,

2016-07-30 (1)

4 thoughts on “Beginner’s Guide to Brush Care; Am I sensing a pattern here?

Leave a Reply

