Everyday Look Walkthrough; It’s here!

img_68011This ones been coming for a while, and I finally got round to having the patience to take step by step photos. Which means I can finally make this post! I’m going to put this in my beginner’s guide section, because I’m sure there a some people who literally have no clue what they’re doing. I’ll explain each step and comment why I do things that I do, so that if someone’s reading this and thinking ‘I’ve never put foundation on my skin before how the heck does it work??’ they can hopefully find the answers in my blog!

I’d just like to point out that I use all drug store brands in this tutorial. This is because this is mostly what I use every day anyway, and it makes the tutorial more accessible to everyone; there’s nothing more annoying than watching a tutorial where every product is high-end and you just feel like you will never be able to re-create the look. So I’m aiming to be affordable and helpful!

So I’ve called this post my Everyday look, but just a disclaimer now; I don’t slap this on my face every day to roll off to work in a cafe for 8 hours, that’s toooooo much effort. This is more like, if I’m going shopping or seeing friends or going to dinner; everyday activities that would require me to look presentable. So that’s what this is! I don’t wear foundation every day, so I might make another post describing my Workday look, which only features concealer and powders ohhhhh. I don’t think I have anything more to say so I’m going to get this started!

Face Prep: So before starting to apply our makeup, we’ve got to make sure our skinIMG_6714 is ready for all the stuff we’re about to pile onto it. So I started by moisturising my skin, followed by applying primer. (In case you’re not sure, primer helps to prepare our skin for foundation, by creating a smooth surface for foundation to be applied onto, and allowing it to last a whole lot longer) I’m currently using the Rimmel Fix and Protect primer. It’s quite thick when first applied, but once it’s rubbed in and dried a little it makes your skin such a nice texture to put your makeup on top of. Side Anecdote, I was getting ready for a night out a while ago, I primed my skin but then did my eyeshadow first instead of foundation, because I knew I would have glitter fall out. However, that fallout stuck to my primed-skin like glue – slightly annoying but more proof that the primer does it’s job.

Once my skin was prepped and ready to go, I applied colour correcting concealer. A quick explanation for people who aren’t sure, this is using coloured concealers to balance out certain colours on your face, and it works by using colours opposite each other on the colour wheel. For example, if you have nasty red breakouts somewhere on your face, you can use green concealer (green and red are opposite each other on the colour wheel)IMG_6717 to help reduce the red tones! So I used orange for under my eyelids where I have some not so attractive dark circles from lack of sleep, and green on areas of my cheeks that get red easily (I’m naturally a very red-faced person, one of the perks of being fair-skinned) Because I just love looking like an idiot, here’s a not so attractive photo of me with my colour concealer all over my face. For some reason I don’t have a photo, but I used MUA’s Pro-Base Prime and Conceal correcting creams, in green and orange. I may look silly, but overall it’s going to help me look less flushed.

I then applied my foundation! Because I have a slight tan on my face at the moment, I’m currently using Rimmel London’s Wake Me Up foundation, in shade 100 – Ivory. I mostly like to IMG_6715use a beauty blender to apply my foundation, as I find it’s the best way to get even and fresh-looking coverage (compared to using a brush and accidentally getting brush strokes and the edge of your face. Possibly just my application but I’m not a fan) If you haven’t used a Beauty Blender before, it’s pretty simple. Wet the sponge under a tap (or in a cup like me if the tap is too far away) so that it enlarges and becomes squishy. Then either put the foundation on your hand, or just directly on the sponge, and dab all over your face until it’s evenly covered! I love Beauty Blenders as they make applying your foundation evenly so much easier, and at the end of the process I usually find it doesn’t look caked on. I also like to spray my B.Blender with a little bit of setting spray, just to help lasting abilities. Here’s some photos (there’s a lot throughout this post, you’ve been fairly warned) of my face half with foundation, and fully covered. Just so you can see how easy it is to cover up the Coloured Concealers.

Next step was my eyeshadow. So I didn’t step by step this look as I was under a tIMG_6842ime-limit, IMG_6731but I was super happy with how it came out, so if anyone wants a step by step tutorial of the look let me know down below! I used Revolution’s New-trals to Neutrals palette for this look, which is a new one I’ve been trying out (in all honesty I bought it because some of the colours are similar to the ABH Modern Renaissance Palette and I wanted to see if I could pull them off before I spent £40) I mainly used the matte cream and browns, with some of the pinky colours and the glitters. They’re all super pigmented and I was pleasantly surprised with this one, so I think I am going to start using it more often!IMG_6732

Once my eyeshadow was sorted it was back to the face. Next step is concealing and setting.IMG_6743 So, on nicely tanned people they can use their concealer for both concealing and IMG_6736highlighting, creating an extra glow on their faces. However I’m too pale for this, and most concealers in the palest shades just match my skin tone anyway. But with this foundation it kind of works, so I use the technique anyway. Using MUA’s Cover & Conceal Concealer in shade Fair (the palest shade oops) I create a triangle-ish shape on my face then blend this out with by B.Blender. This both gives my dark circles an extra layer of coverage, as well as highlighting the area beneath my eyes. I then set my whole face with Collection’s Sheer Lose Powder in transparent. This helps to hold your makeup in place, as well as mattifying your foundation. Here are some photos, though honestly it’s hard to tell the difference due to my paleness!

Next up is contour! Right I’m definitely not a contour expert but I’ve got the basics down.IMG_6745 I use powders for my contour, I haven’t attempted cream contouring yet, but I’ll do that soon and compare the differences! So for my contour, I use Revolution’s Ultra IMG_6744Contour Palette.I like it because the colours can be used by a wide variety of skin tones, and there’s a nice highlight colour tucked in the corner! In the first two photos (click to see them closer!) I show you the key areas you’re most likey to contour; cheekbones, jaw line, nose and forehead. The aim is to create ‘shadows’ on your face, which make the features look smaller and more elegant. Once my contour is applied, I blend it all in with a fluffy face brush, so that it’s blended evenly around my face. I then used the pale pink colour along the top of my nose, under my eyes and across my browbone, to highlight these areas and draw them out more.


Now all the base stuff is finished, it’s time for details! My next step was to add my first coat of mascara, so that I could then add the finishing touches to my eyeshadow! IMG_6753This involves blending the same matte browns to the outer edge of my lower lash line to make my eyes look bigger, and adding a silver IMG_6727glitter to my inner corners to make my eyes pop! Now for the glitter shadow…well, I’ll be honest, it’s a palette I bought off of eBay! I’m planning to do a whole post on eBay products in the future so I won’t go into too much detail, but I honestly love this palette, all the colours are so super pigmented and nice to use, t’was very impressed. But like I said…more on this in a future post (oooohhhhh) I’m also going to say that this is the point when I did myIMG_6726 eyebrows. Honestly I don’t remember when I did my eyebrows in this process, and I can’t tell from the photos because they look kind of awful in all of them! So I won’t say much about them, but I will tell you what I used, which is Revolution’s Focus and Fix Eyebrow Shaping Kit in Light Medium. I will say, if you’re a beginner this palette will be great for you to practise with, but if you’re serious about your brows (which I guess I’m not) then this won’t be for you!

IMG_6756

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’re close to the end now, which means my favourite things; blush and highlight! I do find it amusing that I’ve used multiple products to cover up the redness in my skin, just to use blusher at the end to give my cheeks a nice rosey glow. Oh well! For my Blush, I used Sleek’s Blush in the shade 926 – Rose Gold. IMG_6758IMG_6759IMG_6760Now I’ve heard around and about that this is a good dupe of the Nars Orgasm Blush. I don’t own this so I can’t test the theory, but I do know that this is my faveeeee because it creates a really nice pink glow with hints of golden shimmer in there! Looks so nice on, and really suits my pale complexion. Then, for my highlight (my favourite part of doing my makeup oh my godddddd) I used I Heart Makeup’s Blushing Hearts Triple Baked Blusher. And yes, I can read, I know it says blusher. But the colours are so light and IMG_6761IMG_6762IMG_6763shimmer-y that they work on my skin tone as a highlight! (They make Triple Baked Highlights too, which I am investing in once Payday decides to grace my bank account with some money!) I put the highlight on my cheekbones, my nose and my brow bone; all the places that I want to pop! (If you’re interested, I Heart Makeup is a brand created by the same company who created Revolution. In my opinion these are some of the best high street brands for powders – highlights, eyeshadows, blushes etc. – because they’re all good quality and I’ve never had a powder product from them that I don’t like! Also I Heart Makeup make some pretty good dupes of the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palettes, and as a girl who loves cheap alternative products while I can’t afford high-end stuff, these are exciting for me! Side note over)

To finish, I added a  few more coats of mascara to build up my lashes then added my lippy! For mascaras, I used Maybelline’s Big Eyes Volume Express Mascara for length (which looks like a childs mascara but does wonders for length and curl, IMG_6770and is so cheap! One of my favourite drug store mascaras around) and Benefit’s Bad Gal Lash Mascara for volume (just typical that when I need to take a picture, I only have small ‘sample’ size versions. How do I have three of them but no full size version???)
My Lipstick is from Rimmel London’s Kate Moss Collection, in shade 30, which I do love. It’s been a while since I’ve worn normal lipstick, but this will always be one of my favourites! (For some reason I have no photo or swatch and it’s too late at night to get one now…sorry!)

Aaaaannnnddddd…Voila! I’m all finished and ready to hit the town (or the pub for Bank Holiday Sunday drinks with my parents as it so happened) I spritz my face with a little bit of MUA’s Pro-Base Mattify Fixing Mist Setting Spray before I leave, just to make sure all my makeup stays in place, and we’re good to go!

I hope that somewhere alone the way in all this babbling and madness, this blog post has helped give an insight into my regular makeup routine! Like I said before, I want this to be able to help people who really have no idea on how to apply their makeup, but hopefully some other people will find it interesting too! Because honestly I found it enjoyable to write.

Thank you so much for sticking around and reading the whole post! As always, feedback is welcomed; what you liked, what you think I could do differently, what you want to see next! Anything is good for me! This was an absolute monster to bash out, and now I’ve got to figure out what to write about next week! My schedule is very hectic at the moment as I’ve just started back at dance, I have rehearsals, and I’m working semi full-time. So I might have to choose a new upload day, but I will update you on this soon!

Thank you so much for reading, I will see you next week, or if not sometime soon!

Much Love Amigos,

2016-07-30 (1)

 

Leave a Reply

