My Top 10 Films for those Rainy Days

watermarkedddIt always makes me chuckle when summer rolls around (well, what we can call summer in England) I absolutely love summer, warmth and sunshine is my favourite thing in the world and when I see that little bit of light dribbling through my window I have to jump at the opportunity to make the most of it. But because of this fear of ‘make the most of summer because it will be gone before you know it’, I always end up feeling guilty if I spend the day resting at home. And this leads to me almost looking forward to days when there’s a little bit of rain, just so I can rest up guilt free. Which is silly, because I hate it when it rains in winter. I hate winter! It’s a vicious cycle really.

But this leads me to this list of my go-to films for when the weather is a bit rubbish and I can happily curl up with my teddy bear blanket and hot chocolate guilt free. (ooh hot chocolate. I think I need to go make myself one now) So I thought I would write a list of my favourite films, so that if anyone gets completely stuck for something to watch they can see if any of these take their fancy. Now obviously this list is going to lean a little more to the female population, as I am a little bit of a girly girl, but I’m hoping there’s stuff in here that appeals to everyone 🙂 (Just a little side note that this list isn’t in order of my ultimate favourites, as I am terrible at choosing my favourite anything and these are all fantastic)

  1. Tangled – Disney is an excellent place to start. There are many amazing Disney films out there, and I love them all; though I am partial to a Disney Princess any day. And I feel, due to everyone getting caught up in Frozen, that Tangled almost gets forgotten. But I LOVE Tangled. It’s up there with my fave Disney Princess films, alongside Mulan and Beauty and the Beast. The reason might be due to Flynn/Eugene being totally swoon worthy (I know, it’s weird, he’s a cartoon character, but it can’t be denied) or it might be because I also have rather long blonde hair and I want to be Rapunzel at Disney World, but I think it’s mainly just down to it being an all-round cheery film. Great songs, funny storyline and a cheese-worthy ending; it’s a perfect easy watch. A nice place to start.
  2. The Grand Budapest Hotel – This completely contrasts with Tangled, as it isn’t animated, isn’t a musical and definitely doesn’t have a swoon-worthy ending. The film was created by Wes Anderson (who is a rather famous Director if you don’t know) and so has his very unique style of filmmaking behind it. I’m not sure if you’d call it a black-comedy, a regular comedy or something else, but I do know that it’s a great film that makes you laugh and think at the same time. Not a film to watch if you just want something easy, but definitely good if you want to be engaged and enjoy films with excellent production values. There’s something about Anderson’s style that makes his films very intriguing to watch, and if you enjoy this I would highly recommend you watch some of his other films, such as ‘The Life Aqautic with Steve Zissou’.
  3. Burlesque – IF YOU’RE A CONFIDENT, SEXY LADY WHO APPRECIATES A FINE BIT OF LINGERIE THAN THIS FILM IS DEFINITELY FOR YOU. I’m sorry, I do get excited about Burlesque because it is just so fantastic. Great songs, fantastic dancing and clothes to die for, this film is such a fab feel-good watch. I’m not going to say it’s the best film ever made, I’m sure more knowledgable film ‘critics’ could pull it to piece’s, but I just love it for what it is. Women doing what they want to get what they want, some proper tunes and dance numbers, and romance to tie it up in a little bow. It’s a film of my dreams. I listen to the soundtrack whenever I need pumping up; it’s especially great for the gym, as it motivates me to look just as sexy as the women in that film. And the lyric ‘Don’t need a sugar daddy, she can work it just fine’ has become my mantra to live by, because I can also work it just fine all be myself. I think I’m rambling now so I’ll stop here, but I would definitely recommend this film.
  4. Gremlins – I don’t know what it is about Gremlins but I just bloody love it. It starts off as a happy family film with a cute little puff ball that you can’t help but make heart eyes at, and then BAM! Evil monsters that are 3 feet tall and trying to cause you great harm. What’s not to love! It’s such a great film to watch, makes you laugh and it’s so inventive. I didn’t think I’d enjoy it when I first heard of it but now I love it, and the sequel is just as great as the first one for different reasons. Even if you think it’s not your cup of tea, just watch it purely to fall in love with Gizmo. Because once you love him you’re bound to love the rest of the film.
  5. Mad Max: Fury Road – Aside from the Media Studies GCSE I botched my way through in high school because my courses got change, I can’t say I’m a film expert in any way, or understand all of the fine details that go into film making. But I know enough to know that Mad Max is made beautifully, with excellent production features and a killer soundtrack. I saw Mad Max when it came out in the cinema, and seeing it on a full screen with surround sound added to the effect of it just being astounding. I love watching it, I get so caught up in the action of it all and I’m still not bored of it now. Which I always find is a good testament as to whether a film is actually well made or not. The acting is amazing – who doesn’t love a bit of Tom Hardy, and Charlize Theron absolutely SLAYS as Furiosa. And the film is beautiful to watch, it’s so aesthetically pleasing, which seamless special effects and fantastic props. I’m finding it hard to put into words the reason I like it so much, but I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys an action film. It’s so slick.
  6. Rent – This is a musical and feel free to skip this if musicals aren’t your thing, but this is one of my favourite musicals in the creation of musicals. RENT! As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a Musical Theatre gal, and Rent was a turning point for me. We performed it at my college, and being in it and the role I played really helped me to grow as an actor and performer and in confidence! Now I’m in another show of it because I’m so hooked! (More details of that will be coming soooooooon) So for those of you that haven’t seen Rent and are interested in musicals, it’s a good’un to go buy. It’s a very emotional story, following the lives of a group of friends. It has amazing backstory behind it, with the characters being based off of real people and their struggles. And if any of you know about Jonathon Larson (the writer of Rent) then you know that this show is given double the emotional impact due to him passing away on opening night. Classed as a ‘Rock-Opera’ due to it’s ‘rocky’ feel, all of the songs are fantastic and the writing just gets you hooked. Whether you watch the film version or the filmed stage production, I can guarantee you are in for a fun, emotional time. Rent Forever!!
  7. Deadpool – So this is a more recent film, but we all know it’s a good’un. I was excited for this film the moment they announced it at Comicon, and I’ve been excited for it ever since. I have a few Deadpool comics stashed around my room, so this wasn’t a film I was going into blind. Deadpool is one of those films that makes me laugh out loud; and to be honest I don’t very often, I mostly laugh internally unless I find it really funny. So that’s one measure of how fantastic it is. Ryan Reynolds is the perfect person to play Deadpool; I mean, anyone that can make that red suit look good and still execute those punch lines with finessé is definitely an actor that is doing his job properly. I do not recommend this for anyone below the age of 17 because it is very rude and rather gory, but it is a great watch, with the right mixture of everything; comedy, action, romance and superheroes. As superhero films go this is the best one that’s been made, and to be honest I can’t fault it. 10/10.
  8. The Dark Knight & The Dark Knight Rises – ahhhh, Batman. I’m actually sat watching the Dark Knight Rises right now, as it has been an absolute age since I’ve seen it and it’s such a cracker of a film.For anyone that wants to get in to Superhero films, I feel Batman begins and the following two sequels are definitely a good place to start. A lot more serious than the multicoloured world of Marvel films (that isn’t a dig because I love Marvel almost just as much as DC. Almost.) but still with moments that make you chuckle. I will be honest, since the arrival of Batman vs Superman and Suicide Squad, Ben Affleck has definitely become my favourite Batman. But Christian Bale has his style and it works well with the films, and they’re so engaging to watch. They’re not the kind of films you can watch half-heartedly; they need your attention if you want to know what’s going on, and the second time round always makes a lot more sense. But they’re awesome and I love them, as I am a little  bit of a superhero fanatic.
  9. The Duff – So I thought I’d finish with an upbeat, cheery one. If you love Rom-Coms then you will absolutely love this film, it is my quite possibly my favourite rom-com of all time. It is the perfect balance of comedy, weird, romantic, and – shockingly – slightly relatable. I’m not saying we all have a hulky sports god as our neighbour available to give us dating advice, but the characters are more realistic than a lot of romantic comedies. And watching it leaves me with a fuzzy feeling in my belly, because it just makes me so happy. Like every relationship in the world can work out. There’s not much more to say than this is just great and if you need cheering up this is the perfect film to watch.
  10. So when I first planned this post I was also going to write about the film Easy A, because that is a great watch and a hilarious film. But I’ve recently started watching the most amazing TV series which I have decided I need to share with the world. If you have Netflix then you need to watch Jane the Virgin. It is the most hilarious, dramatic and romantic series I have ever watched. It has possibly the most complicated plotline of anything I’ve ever watched, and you really need to watch the whole thing to understand what’s going on. Because it is crazyyy complicated with about ten different things all going on at once. But it makes you laugh, and it makes you cry, and it makes you really confused, and it makes you want to keep watching for hours on end. I haven’t finished it yet so I can’t let you know if it has a happy ending, but if you find yourself at a loss of something to watch I would definitely recommend Jane the Virgin! 10/10 the best thing I’ve watched in a very long time. (Update: I have now finished watching season 1 of Jane the Virgin and OMG HOW COULD THEY LEAVE IT LIKE THAT, THEY BLINDSIDED ME. WHERE CAN I WATCH SEASON TWO. WHEREEEEE. GOD DAMMIT AMERICA. So yeah you need to watch it)

And that concludes my list! I hope by reading this you’ve found some films (or TV series *nudge nudge*)  that you want to watch, as I do love sharing things with other people. Maybe it’s made you think about how you’re gonna spend your next rainy day, or maybe you’re thinking of just giving up and going to your bed now…hey, I’m not judging!

Thanks so much for reading! 🙂 If you keep up with my posts weekly (which, umm thank you so much if you do!) then you will know I haven’t been doing a very good job at keeping up with my own upload day. However, I think I now have my schedule sorted, and so new upload day is gonna be Saturday. Means I actually have some time to think about my blog posts!

I’ll see you all soon, Much Love,

2016-07-30 (1)

Leave a Reply

