Rent; No Day But Today

img_8493

Hello my lovelies,

So I’ve got a bit of a different blog post this week.If you read my latest blog posts (or went on any of my social media or had a conversation with me or just came within 5 feet of me) you will know that last week I was in a performance of Rent. And it’s made me feel all kinds of things that I need to get out. If you don’t want to read a whole lot of mush feel free to skip this one, I understand, but now I’m going to talk about this incredible experience.

So I auditioned for Rent what feels like years ago, though in reality was about 5 months. I didn’t really think I’d make it into the cast, but I had to go for it anyway because it’s my favourite musical ever. And after re-calls I was lucky enough to gain a place in one of the most incredible casts I’ve ever been a part of. We started rehearsals in September, and the following three months flew past until we’d made it to show week and our labour of love was finally ready to appear on stage. Show week went even better than I could ever imagine; we gained a five-star review on our opening night, and every show after that was incredible. Standing ovations, packed audiences, and a million congratulations from people, it was a dream come true.img_7478

Our director for this show was Mykal Rand, who is one of the most talented and down to earth people I’ve got to work with. He was a part of the Original West End cast of Rent, and so was able to keep the show true to the way it was written, while working it to fit our cast. I learnt so much from him in three months, and I’m so grateful that I was given the opportunity to work with him. I know that I’ll carry the things I’ve learnt from him on with me forever.

And then the cast. My beautiful Rent family. I’ve never felt more at home and accepted by a group of strangers, and the love we all felt for each other is what made the show. Rent isn’t like other musicals where you watch fun stories peppered with amazing songs and huge dance numbers (and I’m not saying this is a bad thing either) because the story is just so important. The writer, Jonathon Larson, wrote the story based on real people and their lives, which gives the show a realness that is hard to find in musicals. And his passing before the show opened gives it even more meaning; he never got to see his show come to life, and so every cast is performing it for him. This makes it almost impossible to be a part of the show without growing close to your cast members (especially when we all cried during rehearsal at some point) We learnt and grew together, and if I do say so myself we became a pretty amazing cast.collage-2016-12-11-13_25_15

I always feel when I’m writing posts to do with things that aren’t makeup that I get a bit mumble-y and away with myself, so I will start to bring it to a close here. Thank you so much to everyone that was involved in Rent, from the cast to the production team, for making it such an amazing experience. I miss every single one of you beautiful people already. To Mykal and Damien for teaching me so much. And for the amazing Musical for teaching me everything. I’ve had a taste of what it’s like to be a part of the professional performance world and I don’t ever want to give it up. There really is no day but today; and I’m going to make the most of every single one of them.

I’m sorry for the babble. I’ll see you guys soon,

2016-07-30 (1)

Leave a Reply

