New Buys of the Month; Hit or Miss?

Blog Openers

Hello my lovelies,

Me again! It feels like it has been forever, and I’m not sure if it really has been or if work is just destroying all sense of time. Either way, I’ve got some time to sit down and  write, and I am very happy about it. I miss getting to talk about makeup non stop without people getting bored of me. So in this post, I’m going to talk about some new products I picked up recently, and whether I think they’re worth the money or not. I think I’m going to start doing this every month, because even though I’m trying to save money, I can guarantee every  month I will buy more makeup! Right, I’ll get on with it then shall I?

So the first product I’m going to talk about is the L’Oreal Paris 24HR Infallible foundation. I’ve been looking for a new foundation for a while and this is the one I decided to give a go; I’m not really sure why, except I have the 24HR Infallible Matte version and I knew I liked that, and so I figured this would be in the same ball park. So I am in shade 015, Porcelain (unsurprisingly the palest shade) and it’s a nice colour match. Which is a good place to start, I usually only have the option of the lightest shade with foundation, so it’s make or break if the shade doesn’t match. It’s almost actually a little TOO pale for me (almost) but this is fine because by the time I’ve added face powder and contour it all evens out and looks super natural.

So I’ve used this a few times now to get a feel for it, and I have to say I’m pretty happy with the results. The first time I used it I used wayyy to much all in one go, and so it looked really cakey and not very nice. But since that time, I’ve gone back to putting on my foundation the way I always do and the results have been a lot better! The thing I love about this foundation is that it builds up really nicely. So in these photos I use one layer, with a little extra on my cheeks just to build up the coverage. The bottle says it’s a full coverage foundation and one layer does a good job! (You can see in the photo how many of my freckles and the redness in my cheeks is covered up) But the thing I’ve found is that if you want more coverage, you can just add another layer and it builds up really nicely without looking too cakey. Personally one layer is enough for me, but I like that you have the option to build your coverage!

The photos here were taken about 11 hours after I applied my makeup, and you can see that it lasted quite nicely! The main area that it wore off was my nose, but I always get wear here, and I have a cold so I was blowing my nose a lot! But other than that I’m glad with how well the foundation lasts, and this is definitely my new favourite full coverage foundation.

Next up is a new setting powder I’ve found. So I know a lot of people prefer loose powders for setting their makeup, and I am among that category. However, I am yet to find a good drug store setting powder that isn’t yellow toned (I’ve heard good things about the Rimmel Match Perfection Silky Loose Face Powder, so I will definitely be buying that when I get paid) So while I have been left without a loose setting powder (anything yellow tones makes me look orange as heck) I’ve had to make do with compact ones.

And I have found the Skin Define Hydro Powder from MUA is amazing! It is completely translucent which is obviously a good start, and it sets my makeup so nicely. I mostly use this to set my concealer and areas where I am likely to get creases. I use a stippling brush, and pat the powder onto these areas. Once it’s set, I then go over again in a swiping motions to get rid of areas where my makeup has creased, like on my eyelids. And the powder is great, sets my makeup nice and matte and it doesn’t move all day! Probably one of the best things is that it has no Silica in it, so no white flashback from cameras! This has definitely become a new staple in my makeup routine.

 
IMG_0844So next I have an eyebrow product, which was a bit exciting for me. It’s called the Master Shape Brow Pencil from Maybelline, and the thing that made me excited to buy it was that it is the closest match to my eyebrow colour of any product I’ve ever used. In case you’re wondering I got the shade Blonde. So I must say this isn’t the best product I’ve ever used; it isn’t especially pigmented, and the product wears down very quickly. But the colour is nice, and the product has a waxy texture.2017-03-14 Personal preference, I like this because it helps to shape your eyebrows, but some people may not like it as much. Not the best thing in the world but it did only cost £2.99, and it comes with a spoolie on the end so an added bonus! (Side note: after a little read on the website, it says the product is a ‘wax formula, with subtle colour pigments’. So maybe the lack of pigmentation is part of the design? You decide) For my eyebrows here, I used the pencil to create the shape of my brows, and then filled them in with a powder from Makeup Revolution.

Next up is a product that you’ve probably all heard of before, because it is amazing. To be honest I’ve just been really slow on getting myself one, I’m a bit useless.

IMG_0806
I’m wearing the shade ‘Subsolar’

A highlighter product (ahhh the beauty), I’m talking about the Sleek Solstice Palette. I die for the highlights in this palette, they are stunning. One cream and three powders. So I mostly use the powders, because they work nicest on my cheekbones, but the cream is pigmented and gorgeous and works really nicely on your inner corners and brow bones. I love it because all of the colours work on my skin tone, which is rare because I’m so pale. And they look stunning, you’d be able to spot that glow from a mile off. £9.99 for amazing quality and stunning colours, if like me you still haven’t got it (well I mean I do now but you know what I mean) then get one! They’re fantastic.

So the last product that I’m going to talk about is the one I’m most excited about! Can you guess what it is? No? It’s eyeshadow, come on that one was easy, you should have got that (eyeshadow is my life). Okay so this is a palette by an indie company called ‘Lovable Lashes’. If you can’t tell by the name they focus on fake eyelashes, however they have broadened their horizons into the world of eyeshadow. And dayummmmm they are doing a good job of it! So I first saw this palette in a Youtube video by Sophdoesnails (if you’ve never seen her videos check them out, they’re so good for drugstore makeup tutorials. She’s probably my favourite British Beauty Vlogger! Check out the video talking about the palette Here) and the pigment looked so insane that I knew I needed it in my life! It was sold out for a very long time, but a couple of weeks ago they finally came back in stock and I got one! The palette is 100% cruelty free, which is the best starting point, and contains 35 eyeshadow pans; 26 shimmers, 9 mattes.

 

Guys, I am honestly shook at the quality of this palette. The pigment of these shadows is insane, and it only costs £18.99, so this is an absolute bargain! The first time I swatched these I was so shocked; I knew they were good from the video, but I didn’t expect the quality that I got! And all of the colours are stunning!

IMG_0799
LOOK. AT. THE. PIGMENTATION!!

My favourite is the shimmery red colour in the middle, as this is one of my favourite eyeshadow colours all year round. And the mattes hit it HARD as well, which is great, because it sucks when a palette has amazing shimmers but the mattes fall short. I would say the only downside to this palette is that it doesn’t have any paler transition mattes, so you need to use another palette with it, which can suck for travelling. However the pigments are such high quality that this really isn’t a problem for me! I have nothing negative to say about it, and I would definitely recommend this palette to you guys! Check it out on the website Here.

So that’s everything I’ve got! I hope you guys enjoyed this post, I knew I definitely did so I’ll be writing more in the future! I’ll try and make it a monthly series, but seeing as I only have 3 posts in my ‘Beginner’s Guides’ series I can’t guarantee anything! Thanks so much if you stuck to the end, as always it would mean so much if you can subscribe to keep up with what I post!

Until next time my lovelies,

2016-07-30 (1)

Leave a Reply

