I’m Baaackkkkk!

img_7971

Woah! What’s this? Is Charley really uploading a blog post?? *Takes deep breath and sits down because it’s been a while*

So hello! I’m back, I finally stretched my fingers and did some writing. And it feels good! I’ve been gone a long time (I’m sorry) but in my own defense I have been very busy with a number of things. First of all, work has been hectic with lots of important functions and things (and I’m trying to save up for a bomb holiday so I need all the shifts I can get). Secondly, my dance school’s Christmas show is coming up so I’ve been rehearsing for that. Thirdly, drama school audition prep (I’m not nervous you’re nervous) And lastly, I’ve been in lots of rehearsals for my upcoming show, Rent! As I’m writing this we’re six days away from opening night and I’m so incredibly excited. So I thought, before I crack on with babble about foundation and other things (I haven’t written that blog post yet, I haven’t made a decision don’t look at me like that) I’m gonna do a little plug for Rent, and fill you all in on the super exciting show I’ve been busy with for the past three months.

So I mentioned Rent in my ‘favourite films’ post, and I believe back then I promised more information on the show. And now I have info to give you! So if you don’t know, Rent is about a group of friends living in New York in the early 90’s, and their battles with life (it’s a difficult show to summarise in one sentence. Here’s wikipedia’s description, as it’s much more eloquent than mine: Rent is a rock musical with music and lyrics by Jonathan Larson loosely based on Giacomo Puccini’s opera La Bohème. It tells the story of a group of impoverished young artists struggling to survive and create a life in New York City’s East Village in the thriving days of Bohemian Alphabet City, under the shadow of HIV/AIDS.) This year is the show’s 20th anniversary of being on Broadway, which means celebration! And I am very honoured to say I am working with a very beautiful cast to re-create the show at The Old Market theatre in Hove. A great production team behind us and being directed by two previous Rent stars, it’s the most exciting thing I’ve ever taken part in. Working with our director, Mykal Rand, has been an absolute honour. He’s got so much creative drive and he makes sure all of us don’t stop until we’re as good as we can be. A quick google of Mykal will tell you his incredibly long list of credentials, which includes playing one of the lead roles, Collins, in the original London production of Rent. So we’re in safe hands with his direction! We’re doing a 5 day run, from the 29th of November to the 3rd of December, and I’m so excited!

Official Facebook Page; Get info! There’s the link for the event page, where we have so much going on! I’m gonna share some of it here though, because I’m so excited! We’ve been rehearsing since September, and it’s been a whirlwind of harmonies and blocking and laughter. We’re now so close, which means a whole load of pre-show stress and excitement followed by happiness and exhaustion for a week!

Here’s some photos of us all throughout the process, it’s been a long journey but we’re here! Now we’ve just gotta drag some butts into seats and perform! If you click the very messy link below (It was the only way I could find to embed the video sorry) it will take you to our promo video, which involved invading a cafe and breaking one of their tables.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FBirdStudiosRENT%2Fvideos%2F1613520305619813%2F&show_text=1&width=560

So if after all this nonsense you think you might be interested, or if you find yourself in the Brighton area and need something to do, grab a ticket and come along! Get tickets here: Tickets! It’s going to be incredible, you really don’t want to miss it.

Our Headshots – you can find my face in here somewhere!

And I think that pretty much rounds up this post! I am now going to get on and write some more posts now, with actual makeup and things in them. I can’t promise uploads will become regular from here (I mean, it’s show week next week hellooooo) but I’m going to start being more pro-active again. Because I like blogging!

It felt good to be back amigos, I’ll see you very soon,

Much Love

2016-07-30 (1)

Leave a comment